The ICF canoe sprint World Championships commence in Milan, Italy today!

The Paracanoe World Championships will be contested on the opening day.

Seven Australian’s will race to secure quotas to the Paralympic Games in 2016.

Athletes who finish inside the top six (minimum three continents) in the K1 events will earn their nation a Paralympic quota.

Colin Sieders will be the first Australian to race in Milan when he contests the KL1 K1 200 heats at 4:26pm AEST.

Last year in Moscow, Curtis McGrath and Amanda Reynolds were our standout performers, winning gold in the V1 VL2 (formerly TA) 200 and bronze in the K1 KL3 (formerly LTA) 200 finals respectively.

This year they will be Australia’s top medal chances once again.

McGrath will double up this year, he will be out to defend his V1 world title, but more importantly push for a medal in the K1 event to secure Australia a Paralympic quota.

Reynolds is aiming to improve on her bronze medal performance last year.

“I would love to,” Reynolds said.

“I think the pieces of the puzzle are starting to click in and my technique is getting a lot better and the boat control, so it would be awesome to get up further but our goal is to get through to the final, keep pushing and aim for the top.”

Joining the pair to compete at the Paracanoe World Championships once again will be Penrith paddler Sieders (KL1) and Susan Seipel of Brisbane (KL2).

At 15, Avoca kayaker Dylan Littlehales (KL3) will make his world’s debut alongside South Australian Sam Germein and Manly paddler Samantha Bloom (KL1).

Since the same time last year there has been a change to the classification. Please read the section below for more information.

PARALYMPICS – How to secure quotas
EventRequirements to Qualify
KL3 Mens K1Top 6 (Min 3 continents)
KL2 Mens K1Top 6 (Min 3 continents)
KL1 Mens K1Top 6 (Min 3 continents)
KL3 Womens K1Top 6 (Min 3 continents)
KL2 Womens K1Top 6 (Min 3 continents)
KL1 Womens KITop 6 (Min 3 continents)


Wednesday 19 August Australian schedule

Time (AEST)EVENTCompetitor(s)
4:28pmK1 200 KL1 Men Heat 3Colin Sieders
5:24pmV1 200 VL2 Men Heat 2Curtis McGrath
5:38pmK1 200 KL2 Women Heat 1Susan Seipel
6:34pmK1 200 KL3 Men Heat 3Dylan Littlehales
6:48pmK1 200 KL3 Women Heat 2Amanda Reynolds
7:16pmK1 200 KL2 Men Heat 1Curtis McGrath
7:30pmK1 200 KL3 Men Heat 1Sam Germein
8:26pmK1 200 KL1 Women Heat 1Sam Bloom


Paracanoe classifications

  • KL1 (formerly A): Athletes with no or very limited trunk function and no leg function and typically need a special seat with high backrest in the kayak.
  • KL2 (formerly TA): Athletes with partial trunk and leg function, able to sit upright in the kayak but might need a special backrest, limited leg movement during paddling.
  • KL3 (formerly LTA): Athletes with trunk function and partial leg function, able to sit with trunk in forward flexed position in the kayak and able to use at least one leg/prosthesis.

At the international level, Non-Paralympic Paracanoe events are the Va’a events. They use the same system of classification. The class titles are: VL1, VL2, VL3.

Visit the OFFICIAL WEBSITE for start lists, results and more information.