Paddle WA AGM & Annual Awards

Top images: Rosalie Evans (EO), Shirley Go, Tim Hyde, Scarlett Florisson, Terry Bolland, and the Hall of Fame inductees.
Bottom images: Cindy Coward, Steve Coward, Ben Mercer, Beck Florisson & Mark Lawson. Photos: Lawrence Greed

Thank you to all who attended the 2018 Paddle WA AGM and Annual Awards Day! Over 60 club members and relatives attended the day which is the most we’ve ever had. Cindy Coward delivered a great President’s report to finish off her term on the Paddle WA Board, and now moves on as a new member of the Paddle Australia Board. We also welcomed Andrew Hayden from Bayswater Paddlesports Club onto the board, and former Development Officer Zac Acott as an independent board member. Unfortunately Martyn Clancy-Lowe can no longer be on the Paddle WA board due to being involved with the Paddle Australia board, so if you are interested in this position please email to apply.

Following the AGM we had our Annual Awards ceremony, which included the brand new Paddle WA Hall of Fame! This recognises Western Australians who have achieved the highest level of their sport, either through competition, coaching or outstanding feats. A new page has been added to our website describing their paddling career and can be found by clicking the above link. A massive congratulations to the following inductees:

Amanda Simper (OLY, SCC)
Bevan Dashwood (AKC)
Kelvin Graham (OLY)
Ken Vidler (OLY)
Lisa Russ (née Oldenhof, OLY)
Ramon Andersson (OLY, BPC)
Robin Bell (OLY, SCC)
Sandy Robson (SKCWA)
Terry Bolland (AKC)
Zlatan Ibrahimbegovic (OLY, SCC)

We had a number of worthy nominees for the Volunteer of the Year, Contribution to Sport, Junior Paddler of the Year, Master Paddler of the Year, and Senior Paddler of the Year awards, and the Awards Committee had their work cut out deciding who the winners were! All those nominated should be extremely proud of their achievements, and should know that Paddle WA is very privileged to have such extraordinary athletes and volunteers in our state. Please see the nominees and winners of each award below.

Thanks to ChefMade/Chilli Chocolate Pork Company for catering the lunch for our Christmas wind up.

Volunteer of the Year

Beck Florisson – Winner
Steve Mueller

Contribution to Sport

The Coward Family – Winner
The Smee Family
Ben Mercer

Junior Paddler of the Year

Alexandria Choate – Winner
Luke Dooley
Scarlett Florisson
Tim Hyde

Master Paddler of the Year

Mark Lawson – Winner
Ron Clarke

Senior Paddler of the Year

Brodie Crawford – Winner
Samantha Pilton

Minutes from the AGM can be found here.

The slideshow shown during the AGM and award presentations can be found here.