2019 Paddle WA AGM and Awards Day

The 2019 Paddle WA AGM and Awards Day was held on Sunday the 24th of November at the stunning Swan Canoe Club.

Finalists and winners of Master Paddler of the Year (left), Contribution to Sport (middle), and Junior Paddler of the Year (right).

We were lucky enough to have Phil Jones, CEO of Paddle Australia, in attendance for the AGM. Phil flew over from NSW to meet with the Paddle WA Board, and was even able to present some awards to paddlers from the Paddle Australia Annual Awards!

Congratulations to all who were nominated for an award. While there can only be one winner (usually…), every nominee has done incredible things in the paddling world this season and should be proud of their achievements. Read on to see who won each award!

2019 Paddle WA Annual Report
Slideshow from the 2019 Paddle WA AGM & Awards Day
Minutes from the 2018 Paddle WA AGM & Awards Day (passed)

Volunteer of the Year

After long discussion, it was decided that both Doug and Lawrence would receive this award. Respectively, they coordinated the 2019 Canoe Marathon National Championships and the 2019 Canoe Sprint National Championships in Perth, with both events giving an impressive reception to interstate paddlers.

Contribution to Sport

Other Finalists
AKC Junior Coaching Team
Steve Mueller
Terry Bolland

Junior Paddler of the Year

Other Finalists
George Pankhurst
Jack Choate
Noah Boldy
Scarlett Florisson
Selena Lloyd

Master Paddler of the Year

Other Finalists
Ray Smith
Wendy Burdett

Senior Paddler of the Year

Other Finalists
Brodie Crawford
Coran Longwood
Josh Kippin

SunSmart Ambassador

A number of other special awards were also presented at the Awards Day, including the person who is now the Paddle WA SunSmart Ambassador. The person who was decided to be the SunSmart Ambassador is a paddler who you can always see paddling with a hat and sunglasses, wearing a long sleeve shirt, never forgets sunscreen, and is a fierce, regular competitor of the Saturday Morning Dash.

Paddle WA was pleased to announce Ray Smith as our ambassador for SunSmart.

Ray received a special Paddle WA/SunSmart long sleeve shirt, a badge that he can wear, and a drybag full of SunSmart goodies. Ray is the perfect ambassador in our minds to be the perfect role model for all paddlers, and it is hoped that when people see Ray paddling on the water, they remember to be SunSmart!

Paddle Australia Awards

The CEO of Paddle Australia, Phil Jones, came over to present two awards to paddlers who could not attend Paddle Australia’s Annual Awards a few weeks ago. Congratulations to the following:

Terry Bolland – Master Paddler of the Year

Doug Hodson – Award of Merit

The other WA paddlers who received Paddle Australia awards attended their awards presentation, and were acknowledged by Phil. Jazmin Shipway-Carr (IOP) won the Paddle Australia Junior Paddler of the Year (non-Olympic category) for winning a silver medal at the 2019 ICF Ocean Racing World Championships in France, while Demi O’Brien (SCC) and Georgina Collin (AKC) were given an Award of Merit for their bronze medal-winning performance in the Teams Sprint event at the 2019 ICF U23 Wildwater World Championships.