WA Hosts 2022 Australian Canoe Wildwater Championships!

For the first time in 19 years, WA hosted the 2022 Canoe Wildwater National Championships last weekend on the Avon River!
All competitors at Walyunga National Park. Photo: John O’Sullivan

55 competitors entered the competition across three states, and for the majority of paddlers this was their first time racing at a Wildwater National Championships.

The event became a greater challenge for organisers with a storm causing the Avon River to flood, rendering the sprint course too unsafe for most competitors. However the local committee swiftly adapted to the risks and relocated the Sprint Race to Walyunga National Park. Well done to the local organising committee for ensuring a successful competition was run despite these challenges!

Congratulations to all who competed in the big-water conditions. The Classic and Sprint race courses were so technically demanding, that it required paddlers to use bring out their best whitewater skills to be able to race down it.

A massive thank you goes to Kris Smith and the Wildwater WA committee for running a fantastic, professional event. The team should also be commended for the innovative ideas they brought to the competition, especially the Live Streaming which has set the bar high for future competitions!

Results, photos, and even a Live Stream of the competition are linked further below.

Congratulations to our WA paddlers who were crowned National Champions!

Open Male WWK1
Classic – Josh Kippin
Sprint – Steve Bird
Team Classic – Steve Bird/Jesse Phillips/Noah Boldy

Open Female WWK1
Classic – Nina Mueller
Sprint – Nina Mueller
Team Sprint – Nina Mueller/Alexandra Vogel/Demi O’Brien

U18 Male WWK1
Classic – Noah Boldy
Sprint – Noah Boldy

35+ Male WWK1
Classic – Wayne Martin
Sprint – Wayne Martin

65+ Male WWK1
Classic – Terry Bolland
Sprint – Terry Bolland

Josh Kippin (left), Nina Mueller (middle left), Noah Boldy (middle right), Wayne Martin (right). Photos: John O’Sullivan & Lawrence Greed

Male Wavehopper
Classic – Rob Riggir
Sprint – Kristopher Smith

Female Wavehopper
Sprint – Isabel Combe

Male Sundries
Classic – Ramon Andersson
Sprint – Ramon Andersson

Female Sundries
Classic – Selma Alibegovic
Sprint – Selma Alibegovic

Rob Janiszewski in C1 (left), Selma Alibegovic (centre left), Ramon Andersson (centre right), Kristopher Smith (right). Photos: John O’Sullivan

Classic Individual    –    Classic Teams
Sprint Individual     –     Sprint Teams

by John O’Sullivan
by Lawrence Greed (join group)

Click here